Returning to the Gym

I can honestly say that even though I work AT a gym, I don’t work OUT at the same gym. Or at all for that matter. Yes, I know, I write for a gym’s blog so that should mean I’m a very healthy person who weighs their food, counts their calories, etc etc etc. However, I’m very much on the otherside of … all that.

That is until I realized I was filling out my jeans a little more than I should. So, its …..

Now it’s been a really long time since I’ve done any kind of exercise but I really should have gotten some advice before I just threw myself in. I did a little warm up and then hit the machines!!! 40 minutes later I’m walking out of the gym feeling like my legs have turned into boulders. I’m thinking I have a few people to turn to for advice but for anyone who has come here looking for some pointers and have decided to get back into a routine, check out the following:

  1. Start small: Don’t do what I did… 2 reps of 40 whatevers at every machine, with the weight set to ohGodwhatwasIthinking?! Work below your capacity for the first few weeks. Being sore to the point of being immobile the next day will not be encouragement to return to the gym the day after that.. or that weekend.. or maybe ever again.
  2. Reward yourself: After the end of your first day back into your routine, do something that makes you feel really good. Ignore the smell of cheeseburgers in the air, or the PizzaHut delivery car that just whizzed by. I mean maybe get a massage or maybe even try looking at yourself in the mirror and say an encouraging word or two like “Good job!” “Attaboy champ!” or you know something that is more relevant to today’s vernacular.
  3. Create a Habit: So yeah, this is pretty obvious but create a schedule you know you can stick to. Don’t tell yourself you’re going to go back to the gym tomorrow when, before today, you haven’t seen the inside of the gym since Kylie Jenner was in diapers and not wearing them on her face.

While I know this was a short list, I can barely lift my arms for more than ten minutes at a time. Sometimes those machines look less intimidating than they really are. Anyway, good luck fitness friends!

– Jay

VOLT FITNESS
www.voltfitnessusa.com

Leave a Reply

